Naturally Gluten Free Foods | Wholefood Earth®

If you’re somebody that avoids gluten in their diet, it can sometimes be difficult to navigate what you can and can’t eat.  However, there are still plenty of foods you can choose from to ensure you’re eating a nutritious, balanced diet, that’s satisfying, as well as tasty!


Of course, the most simple, cheapest, and healthy way to follow a gluten-free diet is to fill up on the food groups that are naturally gluten free. And luckily for you, we’ve compiled a comprehensive list of all the food groups which naturally do not contain gluten. You can thank us later 😉


Fruits and Vegetables


Good news – fresh and frozen fruits and vegetables are naturally gluten-free! Although, do make sure to read labels on any processed fruits and veggies, as well as dried fruit, pre-prepared smoothies, and frozen potatoes in case they have had anything added that contains gluten.


Meat, Poultry and Fish


Almost all fresh, unprocessed animal proteins are naturally free from gluten. Just make sure to check any meat or fish that has been breaded, processed, ground meats and cold cuts. Or anything that comes in a sauce, marinade, or seasoning which may include gluten-containing ingredients.


Unflavoured Soy Foods


Rejoice vegetarians, vegans, and plant based folks as soy based meat substitutes are indeed gluten free naturally. Pure soybeans do not have gluten in them, so tofu, tempeh and soya are still on the menu. The only one you need to avoid is seitan which is made from wheat gluten.


Legumes and Nuts


Another plant based protein source that does not contain gluten naturally are nuts and legumes. They’re not only gluten free, but packed full of important nutrients too. So, eat as many beans, peas, lentils, and nuts to your hearts content!


Most Dairy Products


Most dairy products are also naturally gluten-free. However, those that are flavoured and contain additives should always be double-checked for gluten. Also be careful with ice cream along with processed cheeses and avoid anything malted.


Fats and Oils


Another kitchen staple that is naturally free from gluten are fats and oils. Although, in some cases, additives that contain gluten may be mixed with fats and oils for flavour and thickening, so always check labels.


Whole Grains


If you have a gluten intolerance or celiac diseases then you may think grains, starch and flours are out of the question. However, there are actually many naturally gluten-free grains that you can enjoy in a variety of creative ways, some examples are:



    Even gluten-free whole grains can still be contaminated with gluten, especially if they have been processed in facility that also produces gluten-containing foods. So, we recommend to always read the label.




    So, we’ve covered gluten free foods, but what about drinks? Well luckily, most beverages are gluten-free, including water, 100% fruit juices, sodas, energy drinks and sports drinks. Tea and coffee is also free from gluten. Just be careful with any drinks that have added flavourings or mix-ins.


    Alcoholic beverages, including most wines, distilled spirits, ciders, liqueurs and of course gluten free beer are all okay to drink on a gluten-free diet.


    Certain wines, with added colour or flavouring, such as dessert wines, or wines made from barley malt, do contain unsafe amounts of gluten. Non-distilled spirits, beers, ales, lagers, and malt beverages are also non gluten-free.


    Gluten-Free Substitutes


    As well as these naturally gluten free foods, there is of course many readymade gluten-free alternatives widely available in most supermarkets. In fact, most food shops will have a whole gluten free section, making following a gluten-free diet a whole lot easier. You can usually find gluten free versions of bread, cereals, pastas, and a variety of baked goods.


    Although, keep in mind, that minimally processed fresh foods are an essential part of any type of diet, including a gluten free one. It is important to base your diet around the healthy food groups listed above. If you concentrate on eating mostly fresh, whole, gluten-free foods and a small number of processed foods, adhering to a gluten-free diet is not just achievable, but satiating and enjoyable too!

    FloursGluten freeNutsWhole grains

    Leave a comment

    All comments are moderated before being published